Monster Cookie Dough Dip

This recipe title may seem deceiving, but trust me it is NOT in the least….it’s actual cookie dough..with no egg that you can just devour. Talk about dangerous! This wonderful recipe I found – of course – through Pinterest. Then of course the credit goes to The Girl Who Ate Everything, for introducing me to this delicious delicacy, which in some instances I slightly modified to my own personal liking.

The best part about this dish is that there’s really nothing to it at all, it’s simple, to the point, and really curbs your sweet tooth!

2014-10-30 07.53.00_resized

Ingredients:

  • 1 (8 oz) cream cheese package, softened
  • 1/2 cup butter, slightly softened melted
  • 1 cup creamy crunchy peanut butter
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 3 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2  1 cup rolled oats, old fashioned or quick
  • 2/3 cup M&M’s (add more or less according to preference)
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. With a hand mixer or stand mixer, beat the cream cheese, butter, and peanut butter until smooth.
    1. I do not own a mixer of any kind *sigh* so this was all in the wrists for me with a whisk, which is much harder- I would assume- when using crunchy peanut butter. I LOVE crunchy peanut butter though, you can also substitute for almond butter if you are wanting a somewhat healthier alternative. It will still taste AMAZING!
    2. Also, since I do not have a mixer I left the cream cheese out to soften for about 15 minutes and opted to melt the butter so it was easier to mix together by hand.
  2. Next, add in the powdered sugar, brown sugar, flour, and vanilla extract.
  3. Using the paddle attachment on your mixer, or just a wooden spoon (or a spatula in my case), mix in the oats.
    1. Since I used crunchy peanut butter with that added texture already I opted to lower the amount of oats I put into the dip, it really thickens up once added. I do like the thickness more than a smoother dip, this is all about preference here! Plus, you are putting it in the fridge afterwards, it will firm up!
  4. Add the M&M’s and chocolate chips.
  5. Store in the refrigerator until serving.
    1. This is where it gets fun! The dip goes well with almost anything! I, like The Girl Who Ate Everything, opted for a spoonful. But It’s a great dip for graham crackers, salted pretzels, and all kinds of fruits.

My Thoughts:

This dish was just mind-blowingly (I don’t think that’s a word, but I’m making it one) awesome! I am very glad that I switched it up a bit, I have tried it the original way and then modified it more because in all honesty it became too sweet for me. I am very partial to sweets, so I added the salty and sweet to balance it out more to where I could eat it more easily. But even so, I do not think there is a wrong way to make this dish!

All in all it was prepped and cooked within about 15 minutes, I didn’t even have it in the fridge for 5 minutes before I sat eating it out of the container! I definitely plan on adding it to the list for dishes I am making for the upcoming Halloween Party!

*Correction, I now HAVE a hand mixer! Of course now I have two, since it was on the registry but not everyone checked it I guess! Works for me 🙂 *

Signature 3

 

Leave a Reply

