Chicken Bacon-Ranch Pasta

Foodie Friday!! Another one we’re bringing out this week! It still stands true that I have a bit of an obsession with pastas…which unfortunately are not in my weekly meals right now…well I guess I’ll just salivate and hope for this recipe to come back into my life!!

This week I had some extra chicken to make a sort of “cheat” meal and took a minor detour from my otherwise healthy meal planning. It’s REALLY hard not to have noodles for me. I have a slight addiction to pastas, you would think I’m Italian, but in reality I am not. But anyways I’ve been wanting to try this recipe for a while now and am so glad I finally got to! Even though the bowl I made for myself completely filled me up before I even finished it, which I guess isn’t a bad thing, I had to force myself not to finish it up *sigh for moderation*

Of course I have the habit of not completely reading the directions through and always end up modifying the recipe in some shape or form, but this still turned out amazingly and makes it even better when you already have all the ingredients on hand. Those happen to be my FAVORITE kinds of recipes.

What You’ll Need:

  • 1 lb of pasta (I used penne pasta)
  • 6 strips of bacon, diced
  • 2 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1 packet of ranch seasoning mix
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 boneless skinless chicken breasts (cut into pieces)
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese20150223_184834_resized

Directions:

  1. Start by dicing your bacon strips, you can also start cooking the pasta during this time.
    1. I kept the pasta at low heat so I wouldn’t have to mess with it too often while taking care of everything else, and it’s much harder to dice bacon than it seems.
  2. Once your bacon is diced, start cooking in a skillet, also start on dicing up your chicken breasts; once cooked thoroughly drain the grease, leaving 1 tbsp of drippings in the pan.
    1. To make it easier on myself I tilted the skillet at an angle and filled a tbsp full and drained the rest, then poured the tbsp back into the pan. No burns!20150223_185815_resized
  3. Add your diced chicken breasts to the skillet along with the 1 tbsp of butter; cook thoroughly.
  4. After the chicken is completely cooked through, add the ranch seasoning mix, flour and milk over the chicken. Stir until the mixture becomes bubbly and thick.
    1. The original recipe didn’t specify that the bacon was supposed to be pulled out of the skillet so I left the bacon pieces in the skillet throughout all of these additions and it still turned out fine!
  5. Add the cheese and stir until melted; if you removed the bacon pieces from the skillet go ahead and add half of the lot at this time as well. 20150223_192557_resized
  6. Combine the sauce and the noodles together – add salt and pepper to taste.
    1. My skillet was not large enough to combine the two so I just topped off the noodles with the sauce mixture. I should have used my larger skillet as I was left with plain noodles afterwards. I recommend combining so it’s evenly distributed!
  7. Top off the dish with the leftover bacon pieces and dig in!
    1. Again, was not aware the bacon was to be removed, all of my bacon was already in the mixture! 20150223_193412_resized

My Thoughts:

This dish was actually better than I thought it would be and much easier to prepare than I previously thought. I wish there was more explanation when it came to the bacon pieces in the original recipe, I would have liked the pieces to not have been so crispy, yet it was still delicious! Definitely will be using my larger skillet the next time I make this dish so I can combine the noodles as well. Having a random serving of plain pasta leftover is just awkward, you don’t really know what to do with them! Thankfully last night I made a meatloaf (will post that recipe as well) and the boys had the extra noodles as part of their side! If not for the dish being so filling in itself I would suggest a nice side salad to go with it, or some asparagus! The serving shown above I didn’t even finish! But I have also been eating much lighter these past few weeks.

I highly recommend trying this recipe out, oh! And in case you can’t find the ranch seasoning mix they are usually on the upper shelves with salad dressings, I only knew what it was because Shane’s mom uses these packets to make chip dips, which are AMAZING btw…..oh how I miss chips. Hope ya’ll enjoy this one! Check out below for some more pasta recipes! Also check out the original recipe >>> here<<<!

Signature 3

Leave a Reply

