DIY Wedding Envelope Liners

Man am I glad that our wedding is over with! Don’t get me wrong, it was beautiful and all things amazing, but being a DIY bride is some stressful business! Today I’m throwing it back to the invite process for our wedding back in June, giving this gem to all the new DIY brides out there, my little sister being one of them!

When all was said and done I had to keep reminding myself that envelopes for letters usually end up in the trash. Unfortunately that’s the bitter truth to it, but even so I put so much time and effort into making the envelopes for the invites as personalized as possible. I didn’t do it for anyone else but myself, it was a fun project, a bit time consuming but hey, at least I only ended up having a little under 40 to do!

My first calling when it came to writing out the invites was Pinterest, and from the beginning I originally believed I had to do about 85 invites so I was NOT about to be handwriting that many invites! You must be CRAZY. For those of you brides out there that DO have that many to address, I highly suggest this link here. She was able to print directly on her envelopes, a method I also tried but failed at. None of my printers I attempted to use were up for the task apparently, but clearly it is completely doable!

So, instead I finally came to the realization that I would be writing out 85 invites, when THANK ALL THAT IS HOLY, I found out I only had to do 36! Huge sigh of relief! But of course, with DIY comes great responsibility and some major mistakes.

First step was to find out how in the world the proper way to address the invites were, where I came across this lovely and very helpful item on Pinterest. You’re welcome.85fcca153f4862c23a1aa2ff13dd23aa

Second step, create your rough draft of what you want your envelopes to look like. I modified a few different styles from Pinterest and added my own twist to them. Clearly, calligraphy was out of the question with no printer access to speak of, so I had to rely on my own creative abilities and unsteady handwriting. Of course for any rough draft you do it in pencil, to not do so is just idiocy on your part. DSCN0133Third step, is that once you are satisfied with your rough draft, it’s time to darken this baby up. Now, this is where I should have done more research as to what kinds of thin pens and what-not there were out in the world, before just going on ahead using a fine tip sharpie, which I already had laying around at home. Don’t get me wrong, it came out awesome and I LOVED it. Well, my envelopes were not any fancy colors, they were just plain white. What happens when you put a sharpie onto white paper? Yes, it bleeds through. Now don’t freak out! Yes it bled through, but not to the extent where it went all the way through. Just enough to be completely AWFUL looking on the inside of the envelope, something I was NOT okay with seeing.DSCN0138

DSCN0140

Fourth step, RESEARCH. Well now you have to come up with a solution to remedy the awful looking insides of the envelopes, when you come across info on envelope liners. Praise the Lord! But wait, now a Michael’s trip is in order to get the supplies needed for this DIY project. *Sigh* Then on top of that trip, you try and skip a step from the instructions and purchase a pack of already sized liners from Martha Stewart instead of creating your own from scratch…which you end up having to do anyways. This is the first time Martha has ever failed me! I guess her size A7 envelopes are actually different than the ones I had, because her liners DID NOT FIT. Great, that’s what I get for trying to take the easy way out!

DSCN0143
These are the little buggers that didn’t fit -_-

So, with my impromptu template that I was planning on using being a complete waste of $3.99, I had to create my own. At least the packaging supplied me with the cardboard I used to make the template.

Materials:

  • Ruler
  • Double-sided adhesive tape or glue sticks
  • Pencil
  • Cardboard / chipboard / heavyweight cardstock
  • Whatever paper you want to line your envelopes with
  • Xacto knife
  • Cutting mat/board to protect your table
  • Envelopes

Directions:

  1. Take one of your envelopes and trace it onto the cardboard / chipboard / cardstock.
    DSCN0145
    As you can see, I actually traced mine on the actual paper first. It was much easier to cut through concisely, I then transferred these final measurements to the cardboard, instead of trimming down the edges on the cardboard first.

    DSCN0163
    After I did all of the trimming off the paper and tested slipping it into the envelope, I then transferred the final measurements to the cardboard template.
  2. Cut your template from the cardboard.DSCN0147DSCN0164
  3. Cut 3/4 inch off of the bottom of your template, and 1/8 inch from each side. These trimmings allow the liner to slip easily into the envelopes.DSCN0159
  4. Trace the template onto your envelope liner papers, making sure to do so on the back of the patterned side. DSCN0153
  5. Cut out your liners using the xacto knife. DSCN0154
  6. Next, you can insert the liners into your envelopes.DSCN0161
  7. Use your tape runner/glue stick to secure the liner to the flap.
    DSCN0166
    A trick I figured out, is to fold the envelope over at the flap with the liner in it. The crease will help out immensely when it comes to securing tape to the flap

    DSCN0167

And ta-da!! You now have beautifully lined envelopes!!

I purchased 4 different styles for the liners, as Michael’s did not have enough of each to do them all the same. The best part though is that on each sheet you can use up the scraps to make liners for the RSVP card envelopes as well, which I also did! Using the same method as above will give you the same results when it comes to the 4bar sized RSVP envelopes!DSCN0184

These liners definitely brought some new life to my invites, I may start doing this with all my cards! On average it took me the weekend to complete this project, but mind you that was also writing out all the addresses as well!

DSCN0139
Don’t forget to have a snack! I would suggest wine, but for the sake of not spilling DO NOT have wine!

You can find the original tutorial I used here! Oh and ignore the picture qualities, we’re still trying to improve our photography skills over here!

Happy DIYing!

Signature 3

 

 

 

 

FYI: I purchased our invites from weddingpaperdivas.com , there prices are SUPER affordable and it was fun to play around with the design templates and make them your own! I highly recommend new brides to get on their mailing list! I still receive coupons from them, which I’ll definitely need for the “thank you” cards that I still have YET to send out…I better get on that!

 

Leave a Reply

