Crock-Pot Broccoli & Cheddar Soup

If you suffer the obsession with the Panera Bread Broccoli & Cheddar Soup like I do, then this recipe is…SORTA..for you! With the weather cooling down substantially up here in NC, I’ve decided to bring this gem out from my blogs pages and give it some new life! Many changes are coming our way on this blog and it’s future is being solidified. While we do some major renovations I’ll be sharing some old time favorites to keep your hunger at bay!

So please, enjoy this one on me!! 🙂

20141115_134849_resized

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup green pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 cup onion, chopped
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 (10 ounce) can cream of chicken soup
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1 lb. Velveetacheese, cubed
  • 1 (10 ounce) package frozen chopped broccoli
  • 1/2 cup carrots, chopped
    • can use shredded carrots as well

Directions:

  1. Chop veggies accordingly
  2. Saute onion and green pepper in butter20141115_140421_resized
  3. While those onions and peppers saute, cube the Velveeta cheese block 20141115_140811_resized
  4. Combine all ingredients into the crock-pot20141115_141912_resized
  5. Cook on low for 3-4 hours
    1. My crock-pot is fairly new so it only took about 3 hours to get to my desired thickness20141115_172308_resized

Notes:

I added the carrots into the recipe for personal preferences, the original recipe did not have them included…poor carrots, wouldn’t be the same without them!

My Thoughts:

To begin with, I searched Pinterest FOREVER to find a broccoli and cheddar soup that was only crock-pot based (and did not end up pinning it, so I am sooo sorry that the original is not linked!). I do not quite yet trust my cooking abilities to handle a soup over the stove. But with the winter weather officially here I should probably be more open-minded towards it. The soup turned out to be not quite brothy? enough for me. That’s the only way to really describe it. Whereas the Panera version is so light and not thick in the slightest, I prefer there’s over this. (Of course) But it did turn out a lot better than I thought it would, it just came out too thick for my liking and I think that had to do with the Velveeta cheese. Maybe add in some chicken broth instead of the cream of chicken soup? Perhaps it would lighten the soup more. I don’t think I will try this version again. Below are some more versions that seem to be more of what I am looking for and will more than likely be attempting at instead!

The boys do not like this kind of soup to begin with and it all didn’t get eaten at the party, so I decided I will incorporate the leftovers into some chicken and rice for dinner tonight! Get that all eaten up, nothing goes to waste in this household!

Signature 3

Leave a Reply

