My Six Months of Not Using Shampoo

Okay, so I am sure that A LOT of you out there have heard about the no-poo method, and let me tell you, IT IS AMAZING! From the beginning I was weirded out by the idea and nervous because my hair is naturally pretty wavy and can get super gnarly if not taking proper precautions.

Meandering around on Pinterest one day, just for quick tips on how to grow your hair faster, I came across the no-poo method through this blog here! So how does this tie in with hair growth you ask?! Beats the hell outta me honestly, all I know is that my hair has literally grown about 4 to 5 inches since starting this no-poo fad six months ago….completely pushing me past my plateau as I like to call it. I’ve NEVER had my hair this long, or this healthy!

So what IS no-poo?! Exactly how it sounds, I don’t use shampoo. Now, don’t go rushing to conclusions and assumptions, yes I bathe and still wash my hair, but I wash using a chemical free method, hence where the term no-poo comes into play. Using everyday household ingredients, which I always have stocked up, I have been able to completely reinvent my hair and bring it to it’s natural health, developing the oils it needs on it’s own!

The method I use is this, and it varies for everyone, especially when you first start the endeavor.

Shampoo Mix:

  • 1 tbsp baking soda
  • 1 cup water

Mix the ingredients in a squeeze bottle until well dissolved.

Method: For usage, thoroughly rinse your hair with water, then make sure you ONLY wash your roots with the baking soda mixture, not the entire length of your hair as it can dry it out much faster. Your scalp will feel slimy, a bit like shampoo but without the bubbles and the extra smells. The baking soda will break up any residue that you have built up from hair products. Lastly, completely rinse the baking soda mixture out of your hair.

*Keep in mind that you can alter from this base method, for instance going through my transition phase I upped my baking soda to 2 tbsp. and used LESS vinegar solution*

“Conditioner” Mix:

  • 2 tbsp vinegar
  • 1 cup water

Mix the ingredients in a spray bottle.

Method: Spray in the vinegar mixture along the length of your hair, putting the most solution into the ends of your hair. Leave it in as you would with regular conditioner for the duration of your shower, or roughly 2 minutes. Once you’re about to get out, rinse thoroughly.

*You can use either white or apple cider vinegar, I started off using white vinegar and then switched to apple cider vinegar after my transition period ended, also using varying amounts because of the texture and type of my hair*

If you’re anything like me and like the silky feeling of your hair when you get out of the shower, definitely turn to coconut oil as a type of leave in applicator. Apply to your hair while still damp, this will give you an amazing smell to your hair as well, making it MUCH easier to brush, and has the added bonus of helping hair growth! Many other people will add essential oils to the vinegar mix to get different scents, but either way don’t worry, your hair WILL NOT smell like vinegar, I promise! Which was surprising to me as well! The coconut oil also keeps my hair from frizzing and enhances my waves in my hair, which I am GRATEFUL for.

A lot of people do this method for the main purpose of not having to wash their hair everyday, which I can now go about 5-6 days without washing and usually just go without, or that is just use water. Since I work out everyday, I can’t exactly NOT shower, so those days in between washes are my water wash days. On days when I feel like my hair looks a bit too greasy or waxy, since I have dark brown hair I usually use cocoa powder or coffee grounds as a dry shampoo. In the original blogger post where I found this method I know the writer has blonde hair and suggested corn starch as a dry shampoo as well!

If you are someone who uses a ton of product, gets highlights, dyes, or any such items, the answer is YES you can still do this method! In fact, there is a whole support system on Facebook dedicated to helping out newbies to the no-poo method, as well as TONS of answered FAQ questions on Living In Another Language, the original blog I found this method from. If you feel like you want to try out this amazing method, please feel free to visit both and read up on it even further!

I understand that it won’t necessarily be for everyone, but I encourage you to try it and at least stick with it long enough to get through your transition phase! Once you pass that milestone, your hair just clicks and everything becomes MUCH easier from that point on!

I wish I would have taken a before shot, but this is my hair now! No products, no heat treatments, just all natural! Oh and btw….I haven’t gotten a hair cut in about 2 years…no judgement…I just don’t trust scissors…or other people to do what I ask when it comes to hair cuts. 

2015-02-03 07.19.33_resized
<< This is about three days in now from washing last, oh and ignore the fact that I have absolutely NO makeup on, these days I rarely ever do! The whole length bit is what REALLY surprised me, and my hair has seemed to thicken out a bit since starting this method.

I would say the hardest part to get through is that initial vinegar smell when used in the shower, which is a quick fix when essential oils are added, but also the silky smooth feeling after you use conditioner…that’s the hardest part for me to get past. Since my hair has gotten longer I’ve noticed my waves have fallen much more and tend to not be in little ringlets much, which is good and bad for me. I actually like to embrace my natural hair, it just suits me better than constantly straightening and taking time to style it.

To see a great comparison I’ve conjured up a photo from Instagram from a few days before beginning this method, of course I had to first use up the remainder of my shampoo…can’t be wasteful 😉2015-02-03 07.39.01_resized But from this picture and the one above ^^, you can see that my hair is at LEAST 4 inches longer.

I am SO happy that I have given this lifestyle a try, and I strongly encourage all of you to try it as well!!

Happy hair days!

xoxo, Bee

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

