Let the Stress Commence

Wedding planning has officially started, well picked back up…this is both a blessing and a curse. A blessing because Shane isn’t being deployed! And a curse because this has to be one of the most stressful experiences of my life thus far. Honestly I don’t think it’s that stressful when you live in the same state as your mother. My mom is seriously the back bone to this whole planning process, I mean she’s been through it before and knows how to plan much better than I do. I’m more of  the go with the flow personality, and have never been one to get plans in order.

For me it’s just been a much harder experience because I am doing it all by myself, and I have a problem with not being able to just focus on one item at a time, I try to tackle them all at once, so of course nothing ever gets accomplished. So, now that everything has been put back in to focus, I have to create a minor checklist for myself just to make sure I’m not over-thinking everything. Make sure that I take it one step at a time and not lose sight of what tasks actually have to be accomplished.

To take my mind off of everything else, I started working on centerpiece ideas again. Trying to coordinate my vision is actually a much harder task than I previously expected. So I began the prep work and tested out a Pin in the process! I was tired of scraping the labels off the bottles, as I did here. So of course I turned to Pinterest to see if there was a faster way…and here it is:

Directions:

  1. Fill your sink with super hot water
  2. Add the following ingredients:
    1. 1/2 cup baking powder
    2. 1 tbsp dish soap
    3. 2 cups white vinegar
  3. Next, add your bottles, letting them fill completely and sink down
  4. Let them sit for about 30 min- 1 hour

20141207_105824_resized

Notes:

The water will fizz after the mixture is all put together, don’t worry it’s supposed to 😉 I also only let mine sit for about 15-30 min before I started rubbing the labels off. One bottle in particular had a much stronger adhesive (the Gentleman Jack bottle) and I left that one in for over an hour to no avail. I will have to take a razors edge to that sucker. But the labels came off  the Jack bottles easily. I had to touch them up a bit with some nail polish remover and a cotton pad to get the extra residue off.

Thoughts:

All in all the magic concoction cut my time literally in half and I got two bottles completely label free instead of just one at a time. Definitely a huge time saver! Plus it made my sink sparkling and smell really clean, which to me is a huge two for one. Now I just have to decide on the staining/painting options for the bottles…sigh…so many options!

20141207_110913_resized
Naked bottles! Forgot to take a pic once the plastic labels are off too..oopsies

Here is where I found the original concoction! From  the blog Healthy, Wealthy & DIY’s! Now I’m more  than depressed I don’t have a gorgeous kitchen like  the writer Amber…one day!

Hope this magic formula can help you all out with  your current or future DIY’s!

 xoxo, Bee

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

