My Polegress

Not going to lie, but this title actually took a lot of thought and effort to come up with, but regardless I am very pleased with my intended pun. So I have not gone into detail about the workouts that I have been doing to get myself in shape, at least not aloud. A lot of people automatically come to all of these conclusions and are quick to judge. But I have found that when it comes to a gym, I have no desire / motivation to continue going. I find myself getting bored doing the same workouts on the same machines. I find no joy in running on the treadmill, working on the elliptical, even trying to get in some cardio just through my neighborhood is hard for me to do.

Now, I am not saying anything prejudiced against the millions of women who can get up and go to the gym everyday, for that I envy you. But ever since I discovered PoleFitness I do not envy you at all. My own boyfriend refers to my classes as “stripper” classes, which is not the case whatsoever. I did a lot of research before deciding I was going to try this new method of workouts, which I can tell you now is not for everyone, but it is definitely not something to write off so quickly because of uneducated assumptions.

How did I find out about it? Glad you asked! I was randomly browsing through YouTube one day, looking up dance routines (I love watching choreographed dancing studios – I lack that ability so I find it fascinating-well used to lack the ability). I came across a page of a professional competitor for pole fitness/dancing.  See the link below:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfVzsiRpJzxpE_l4AA9sJfw

Basically, after watching her on YouTube, I fell in love with the beauty and true strength that it really takes to put into this workout. When I found out that there were actually studios where I could learn to do this, I jumped into research mode to find the perfect fit for me. I came across PoleFit Carolina’s, which was even more fantastic since it was just minutes away from my house! For $20 I signed up for a trial intro class, which if by the end of the night I decided it wasn’t for me, they would reimburse me the money; or if I decided I wanted to join that money would go towards my membership. I thought, why the hell not, and three months later I am a full member and have progressed further than I ever thought possible for myself!

Now, what people do not realize, at least with most of these studios, is that not everything is pole based, we also have Burlesque classes, Pilates, Strength and Conditioning, H.E.A.T (cardio class), Strech for Flex (works on flexibility), Chance to Dance, and so many other classes offered throughout the week that make your workouts more fun and actually gets you wanting to go and workout. I started my classes in the beginning of February, and have gone five out of the seven days a week consistently in that time frame and each class is a whole new skill set that I learn and begin to perfect.

I was never the coordinated dancer, nor the flexible girl, but even within the past three months, I can almost do a left-side split, I can officially touch the floor- palms flat, I am now coordinated enough to catch onto new dance routines and perform them without error. Not only that, but I have met some amazing girls who push me and don’t judge or make fun, which was my biggest concern with first starting out. The view I have of myself has completely changed, I no longer feel  insecure about my body or myself as a whole, I am completely happy and comfortable with exactly who I am. Ever since starting these classes, I have just felt more energetic, more beautiful and sexy, not to mention more in tact within my body. I still have my klutz moments, but at least I end them more fluently and with grace.

PoleFit has definitely influenced my life for the better, and I plan on improving even more in the upcoming years, this is one workout program that works wonders for me. It is truly a life changer and I would encourage everyone to at least try it once in a lifetime. You don’t believe me, below are my progress pictures on just how much my skills have improved in the past three months! Give it a try! Educate yourself before you write it off 🙂

1 month progress! This is called an invert
1 month progress! This is called an invert
2 months progress! This is called an inside leg hang
2 months progress! This is called an inside leg hang
Also 2 months progress, this is called a cross knee hang
Also 2 months progress, this is called a cross knee hang- it is so much harder than it looks!
3 months progress! This is called a Jasmine, not only do you have to completely be upside down, but you then have to lift yourself right-side up again into this move!!
3 months progress! This is called a Jasmine, not only do you have to completely be upside down, but you then have to lift yourself right-side up again into this move!!

If you are ever in the Huntersville, North Carolina area give it a try! Also awesome to do for Bachelorette parties 😉

http://polefitcarolinas.com/

One thought on “My Polegress

Leave a Reply

