Facebook: The Pros and Cons

In today’s society we all rely heavily on social networking, one of the worst ones we deal with are Facebook. I remember back in the day when it was all about Myspace, but then I succumbed to the incubus that is Facebook in 2008. I have often debated deleting my account, just saying goodbye and turning the other way without a care in the world. For four months in 2010 I accomplished this feat, but after my brief time away, I re-engaged myself into “the world.” Sad. I know. Even today, I barely use my Facebook, occasionally posting pictures or a status that literally no one ever cares about. So why do we bother?

As humans, it is in our nature to be on a “need to know” basis, but how in the know do we need to be? I will admit I have done the picture or five on Instagram with food or some random activity throughout the day. But even I see how utterly grotesque that is, falling into the drone that is society, it’s one thing to post meaningful pictures, but to post your every day activities? Even statuses that read too personal I just cringe, but at the same time I don’t know whether to keep scrolling, exit out, or grab the popcorn and sit to see what happens. Facebook is literally a reality TV show provided to you on a daily basis by people you actually know…or know of. That’s why it is such an addiction and so hard to be rid of. 

In the whole scheme of things, it’s hard to do anything now without Facebook. For instance, I am an avid candy crush player, and without Facebook I wouldn’t have gotten as far as I am without the help of my so-called Facebook friends. Even businesses have their own pages now, older family members, apps, they all connect through this one social media. I have been at war with myself for almost two years now whether or not I should do away with Facebook for good. My debates go along these lines:

Pros:

  • Keeping up with friends lives
  • Unlimited access to most apps
  • Get to brag about awesome things going on in your life
  • Sharing precious memories

Cons:

  • Keeping up with “friends” lives
  • People know when your life isn’t so great
  • You are easily found by anyone
  • Facebook stalkers
  • No privacy
  • Facebook hackers
  • More likely to be Catfished 
  • Time consuming
  • No true identity
  • Can cause insecurities
  • Unnecessary couples fights
  • Memories shared are ruined by rude comments
  • Annoying posters

Honestly, the cons list always outdoes the pros, don’t get me wrong if you have more pros to add then please give me your feedback. But in the truth of the matter is that, how many of these people on Facebook do you actually talk to and see on a day-to-day basis? Who are the ones that are actually there for you when things get tough? Who out of all of your hundreds or thousands of friends really care? 

Facebook is just another way that we lose our individuality, another part of our culture that blends together to make us one blob instead of separate entities with our own thoughts, ideas, and actions. More battery power that is sucked out of our phones each day from randomly checking the news feeds, internally laughing at some other person’s misfortunes, or being envious of another’s accomplishments. That delete button has never looked any more appealing to me than it does today. What is your choice?

Leave a Reply

