Blogtember: Day Five

Take this short personality test and respond to your results. (at the end, find the detailed profile of your personality account – click “click to view” under “You” and “self awareness and personal growth.” You can even google your type and find more info on it!)

My results came to an ENFJ personality type, which after reading the description nailed me right on the head. I have taken this personality test before in college, and the results have slowly changed every year. Which is strange to me, because my last result in college was one letter off. So to see how much I have changed even in the past three years is pretty weird/cool/weird. You would think that you have the same personality your entire life, but that isn’t the case. Sure you have a lot of outstanding qualities that never change, but your views and your values are what change. As an ENFJ, I am a people-focused individual, we deal with things according to how we feel about them, we understand and care about people and have a special talent of bringing out the best in people.

This next part is where it really identifies me to the point of it being weird.

“ENFJ’s are so externally focused that it’s especially important for them to spend time alone. This can be difficult for some ENFJs, because they have the tendency to be hard on themselves and turn to dark thoughts when alone. Consequently, ENFJs might avoid being alone, and fill their lives with activities involving other people. ENFJs tend to define their life’s direction and priorities according to other people’s needs, and may not be aware of their own needs. It’s natural to their personality type that they will tend to place other people’s needs above their own, but they need to stay aware of their own needs so that they don’t sacrifice themselves in their drive to help others.”

My entire life I have always seemed to have this problem, always giving more than I ever receive in return, and I never ask for it, for what I really want out of a person. I care too much, as I have even been often told by friends. I forgive too easily, and while I could manipulate a person to my liking, I never do, and I always end up being the one who is manipulated.  I have been enduring this aspect of my personality recently, “The ENFJ may feel quite lonely even when surrounded by people. This feeling of aloneness may be exacerbated by the tendency to not reveal their true selves.”

It actually helps me to know now this aspect of my personality, because I was beginning to think I was literally insane. That something has been wrong with me but I could never grasp at what it was, and in turn just upset those around me because I couldn’t identify what is really wrong. Finally I know that, well for one I am in the wrong field of work. Spending this much time by myself in a warehouse each day doesn’t appeal to my needs of wanting to be around people in a social environment. Plus my ambitions and hopes for the future have outdone what my current situation is, so it tends to make me uneasy and criticize myself. All in all, this test has really opened my eyes and calmed a lot of my worries, at least for now. 

Below is a link to careers associated with my personality type as well! No wonder I love to write 😉

http://www.personalitypage.com/html/ENFJ_car.html

 

Leave a Reply

